Once

Once, I was a baby in my mothers arms.
Snuggled, warm, and safe from harms

Once, I was a toddler testing everything
Give it a shake, give it a fling

Once, I was a child with a glint in my eye
Dreaming about flying high in the sky

Once, I was a teenager having a ball
Kicking over the traces and looking tall

Once, I was a man taking life in my stride
Looking to the future with my lovely new bride

Once, I was middle aged and reviewing my life
A son, a home, and a wonderful wife

Now, I am retired and slowing the pace
Reminiscing, on life’s great race

Comments welcome

